Nominations for the 2020 Agnes Macphail Award are now open

The nomination deadline for the 2020 Agnes Macphail Award is midnight on Friday, January 10, 2020.

The nominee should be an outstanding volunteer, advocate and contributor to community life. The contribution should be in an area of, but not limited to, Agnes Macphail’s traditions and interests. Nominators should satisfy themselves that the candidate has volunteered in several fields, not just one, and that the various commitments extend over considerable periods of time.

Nominations can be submitted by email to [email protected]. They can also be submitted by mail or hand delivered to: Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee, c/o Antoinette Crichlow City Hall, 12th Floor, West Tower 100 Queen Street West Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

The Agnes Macphail Award Ceremony will be held on Sunday, March 29, 2020. The recipient is honoured with a medal and a framed certificate of recognition.

Further information:


Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890-1954) was once described as “the most important woman in public life that Canada has produced in the 20th century.” She is now featured on the commemorative Canada 150 $10 bill.

In 1921 she blazed a path for women with her election to the federal House of Commons. Following her election in 1943, she became the first woman to sit in the Ontario Legislature, representing the riding of York East (which at that time included the community of East York and a large surrounding rural area). For further information on her life and accomplishments, visit the Agnes Macphail Website and Digital Collection hosted by the Grey Highlands Public Library.

On March 24, 1993, Mayor Michael Prue proclaimed the first annual Agnes Macphail Day in the Borough of East York, in honour of the 50th anniversary of her election to the Legislature.

In January 1994, East York Council established the Agnes Macphail Award.

Latest posts

Take action

Sign up for Updates
News and Updates
Upcoming Events